Underage Drinking TicketsThe state of Tennessee takes its underage drinking laws seriously. If you are underage and consuming alcohol, the chances of you receiving a citation from law enforcement are high. Many times, an underage drinking ticket will be issued to individuals who are drinking while underage.
Important to note is the fact that an underage drinking citation can be issued by a police officer even if the offender is not intoxicated. As long as a police officer witnesses an underage person consuming alcohol, or if a blood test reveals alcohol levels, then a person may be issued a ticket.
The legal consequences of an underage drinking citation should not be taken lightly. Drinking under age (DUA) is a Class A Misdemeanor in Tennessee which can carry punishment of up to 11 months and 29 days. Revocation of a driver’s license, volunteer community hours and even jail time may be mandated for offenders.
For these reasons, it’s important to seek legal counsel so you understand your individual rights and the potential outcome of a court case. Often, an attorney can help to negotiate a fair deal based on their extensive knowledge of the underage drinking laws and penalities.
If you are facing an underage drinking citation, we invite you to contact us for a free consultation. We are happy to meet with you and get to know your case. From there, we can provide a legal recommendation on the best steps to take next.
Why Choose Us?
- Free Case Evaluation
- Payment Plans Available
- Free Initial Consultation